Skip to content

Christmas gift knitting, 2016

December 17, 2016

Knitted Christmas gifts, 2016

I have always loved making gifts for people at Christmas, and having a baby hasn’t slowed me down at all.  Okay, maybe fewer gifts are coming out of my kitchen this year, but my productivity as a knitter has easily doubled!  I made hats for my niece and nephew, but everything else is for my little darling.

Stitch sampler baby blocks

I started knitting these stitch-sampler baby blocks shortly after I found out I was pregnant.  It didn’t take long to knit the squares, but I ran out of steam after stitching the first three blocks together.  I finally finished stitching together the remaining three blocks earlier this month.  The pattern is from the book Knitting for Baby, by Melanie Falick & Kristin Nicholas, and I used Knit Picks Comfy Worsted in Rosehip, Carrot, Peapod, Marina, Celestial, and Lady Slipper.

Hats for Hadley & Hogan

Have you seen the Top This! yarn by DMC?  I first saw it when an Instagram friend posted a picture of the kitty hat she made for her daughter.  This butterfly hat (which has metallic thread running through the dark purple section on top!) is for my 4 1/2-year old niece, and the bear hat is for my almost-2-year old nephew.  I had to add a couple of red stripes in there to make it a Chicago Cubs hat — my brother has been a huge fan since he was a kid, and what better way to start instilling that love in his son?  😉

Red sisterBlue sister

These sweet sisters are reversible!  This was a last-minute gift for Cleo.  I’d finished all of my other knitting projects and wanted something else to work on.  At first I wasn’t sure if I could finish it before Christmas, but then I ended up finishing it in just three days.  I’m really in love with how it turned out…might be my favorite thing I knitted for Christmas!  The pattern is from the book Itty Bitty Toys, by Susan B. Anderson, and I used scraps of Plymouth Encore Worsted in Regal Red, Periwinkle Heather, Off White, Dark Brown Heather, and Golden Glow.

Kitty hat & mittens for Cleo

And finally, a winter set for Cleo’s stocking.  Another Top This! hat, in the Kitten colorway, and mittens from the book Natural Knits for Babies & Moms, by Louisa Harding, in Sublime Baby Cashmere Merino Silk DK in Pinkaboo.

Now I’m working on the Harvey Kimono (also from Natural Knits for Babies & Moms) with some Knit Picks Swish DK.  I’m not expecting to finish it before Christmas, although I would like to have it done shortly thereafter.  I spy some yarn under the tree, and I can’t wait to start knitting a few things for myself in the new year!  🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

