Skip to content

Terra shawl

November 19, 2016

Terra shawl

Terra shawl

Terra shawl

Pattern: Terra, by Jared Flood
Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss DK in Fairy Tale

Yesterday I finished knitting my first ever shawl!  When Brooklyn Tweed recently released their Arbor collection, I fell in love with the beautiful emerald green Terra shawl.  I especially loved the photo of the model wearing the shawl as a scarf.  I knew immediately that I wanted to make one for myself, but the Arbor yarn was just too expensive.  And then Julie wrote her awesome post about not participating in Slow Fashion October, and I was inspired to look for an alternate yarn that fit my budget.  Knit Picks Gloss DK turned out to be a perfect choice.  It’s a blend of Merino wool and silk and comes in a palette of beautifully saturated colors, similar to Arbor.  I chose the color Fairy Tale, a lovely raspberry shade.  I wore the finished shawl for the first time this morning, when we took Cleo to the library for Russian story time and a little walk around downtown.  It was super cozy!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2016 9:05 pm

    That Fairytale colourway looks so beautiful on you!! I’m so glad that you found a yarn that you love that worked or your budget. That’s what it’s all about!! You look amazing.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      November 19, 2016 9:12 pm

      Thank you so much, Julie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

