Skip to content

Introducing Cleo Ilenia

October 2, 2016

1 week old

I had a baby, y’all!  Cleo was born via c-section on the evening of September 12th.  She’s healthy and perfect, with my nose and her daddy’s dark hair.  We’re completely in love with her!

I’m not gonna lie, the first couple of weeks were hard.  I was disappointed that I’d had to have a c-section.  Breastfeeding wasn’t going well, and Cleo was losing too much weight.  We didn’t have the help at home that we were expecting to have.  I caught a nasty cold (and couldn’t take anything for it!).  But we’re figuring it out.  I’m recovering really well from surgery.  I started pumping, which relieved a lot of stress for me and also made Cleo more relaxed about feeding (she’s now gained a whole pound since we left the hospital!).  I’ve gained mommy-confidence a lot faster than I probably would have if I’d had more help.  And not only is my cold mostly gone, but Cleo got all the benefits of my antibodies without ever getting sick herself.

I’m so grateful for this strong, healthy, beautiful baby girl.  Some days (and nights) are difficult, but I’m not in any hurry for her to grow up.  She’s already grown and changed so much over the last 3 weeks.  Before I know it, we’ll be celebrating her first birthday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

