Skip to content

Killing time

September 1, 2016

Y’all, the last month of pregnancy is BORING.  We made the rookie mistake of getting all of our projects done in the first and second trimesters, thinking I’d be too tired to do anything important in the third trimester.  Well, I am tired, but you’d be amazed at how well I can power through that when I’ve got a task to complete!  So I’ve been trying to kill time by knitting through my stash (while binge-watching Parenthood on Netflix).

About a million years ago, I bought approximately 4,972 balls of Rowan Cashsoft DK in the color Mist (a light matte gray).  My intention was to knit a Coraline sweater for myself, but I got bored with it pretty quickly and decided to use the yarn for other things.  So here we are, 9 years later, and I’m still knitting down that stash!  A quick look at my Ravelry projects page shows that I’ve made no less than six things with this yarn, and I still have 341 yards left!  Most recently, I used some of it to knit this sweet little sweater dress for Cleo:

Little Liza Jane
Little Liza Jane
Pattern: Little Liza Jane, by Alison Green
Yarn: Rowan Cashsoft DK in 505 Mist
Size: 6 months

My next project was this little pullover.  I actually knitted all the pieces back in the spring of 2008, but never got around to finishing it.  On Tuesday, I pulled the pieces out of storage, wove in the ends, blocked it, and seamed it.  I also changed out the buttons on the shoulder.  Originally I had used domed pearl buttons, but they looked a little too fancy next to the casual stripes of the sweater.  I found some flat pink plastic ones in my button jar that looked a lot better.  I’m so glad I found the time (and motivation) to finish this pullover.  I can’t wait to dress my little bear cub in it this fall!

Jo Jo Striped Crew Sweater
Pattern: Jo Jo Basic Crew Sweater, from Natural Knits for Babies and Moms by Louisa Harding
Yarn: Rowan Cashsoft DK in 517 Donkey and 807 Pixie
Size: 0-3 months

Last but not least, something for myself!  I had about 130 yards left of Quince & Co. Osprey leftover from Cleo’s baby blanket, which was just what I needed to knit Ripley, a hat that’s been in my queue for a while.  I didn’t make it quite as slouchy as the pattern called for (only knitting 8 rounds between the last pleat and the beginning of the decrease rounds), but I love how it turned out.  Bonus: it took less than 24 hours to knit this hat, thanks to size 10 needles and pregnancy insomnia!

Ripley
Ripley
Pattern: Ripley, from Whimsical Little Knits 2 by Ysolda Teague
Yarn: Quince & Co. Osprey in Audouin
Size: Large, slouchy version with lace band

There’s yarn for three more projects wending its way to me from Maine, and in the meantime I’m going to add a little embroidery to a onesie I bought to go under the gray sweater dress.  That outfit will be one of Cleo’s Christmas presents this year! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

