Skip to content

Recent makes

May 12, 2016

Crepe paper magnolia branch

Last weekend I attended a paper magnolia branch workshop at my favorite local gallery, Wonder Fair.  The workshop was led by a wonderful local artist, Grace D. Chin.  I’ve made a few paper flowers on my own in the past, but I loved the opportunity to learn techniques from a professional and use such high-quality materials like imported German and Italian crepe papers.  Plus Grace and Meredith at Wonder Fair are some of the nicest people in town.  This was Grace’s second paper flower workshop at Wonder Fair, and I think she’s planning more in the future, so definitely keep an eye out for those if you’re in the Lawrence area!

Crepe paper magnolia branch

Originally I intended to put this magnolia branch in the baby’s room, to commemorate our first Mother’s Day together — but then I stuck it up on this shelf in the dining room to keep it away from the cats, and it just looked so perfect!

Hand-stamped muslin blanket

On Sunday I finished up a project I’d been working on for a week or two.  I’d recently purchased the book Yellow Owl’s Little Prints, by Christine Schmidt, and was inspired to try making my own muslin swaddling blanket for the baby.  I started out by purchasing this Speedball rubber stamp carving kit at Wonder Fair, along with a few jars of Jacquard screen print ink in Golden Yellow, Turquoise, and Magenta.  I used one of these juDanzy My Little Legs plain white muslin blankets.

Hand-stamped muslin blanket

To make the “Cleo” stamp (which, btw, we’re having a girl, her name is Cleo!), I drew the name in bubble letters on a piece of white paper, tracing over it a couple times with a pencil.  I flipped this over onto the rubber block and rubbed the back of the paper with the side of the pencil, to transfer the graphite onto the rubber.  The kit came with two carving tips, and I first used the finer tip to outline the letters and remove the centers of the “e” and “o.”  I used the larger carving tip to cut out the bigger areas around the letters and in the middle of the “C.”  I wholeheartedly recommend affixing the rubber to a wooden block (I used super glue and an old piece of scrap wood we had in the garage), because it’s difficult to apply even pressure with just the rubber.  For the polka dots, I just used a pencil eraser.

Baby's first blanket

And finally, a blanket I knit back in February when I first found out I was pregnant.  I chose a fairly neutral color and pattern because I didn’t know the sex yet.  The pattern is Elmer by Melissa LaBarre, and the yarn is Quince & Co. Osprey in Audouin.  Currently I’ve got this blanket draped across the back of the glider in the nursery.  I think it’ll be perfect for late night nursing sessions this winter, but might also be a good stroller blanket for long walks through the park when the weather turns chilly.  Ravelry details here.

Baby's first blanket

And that’s it!  I’ve got a few other knitting projects to finish up (including a baby sweater I knit 8 years ago but never got around to blocking & seaming), and next month Flavio and I are going to take a hand lettering workshop at Wonder Fair.  Otherwise I’ll just be decorating the nursery — a tour of that will be coming soon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2016 1:46 pm

    All of those are so wonderful! I’m really jealous how much more crafty Lawrence is compared to Wichita. I’m really interested in learning to knit, but I’m afraid I won’t be able to with my carpal tunnel wrist. Now that school is done (yayyyyy), I’m thinking of going to one of the yarn shops and begging them to teach me! Such a lovely blanket!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      May 13, 2016 1:51 pm

      Thanks Sara! I don’t know if they still do (now that it’s under new ownership), but the yarn shop in Delano used to offer classes.

Trackbacks

  1. Baby bonnets | Sunshine and Ravioli

Leave a Reply

