Skip to content

Primrose {FO}

July 21, 2015

Primrose

Pattern: Primrose, by Cecily Glowik MacDonald
Yarn: The Woolen Rabbit Essence, in Blush
Ravelry project page (with more photos) is here.

I started this sweater back in January and seemed to move along at a pretty rapid clip.  I thought for sure I would finish it in plenty of time to still be able to wear it at the tail end of winter and into early spring.  But for the life of me, I couldn’t seem to get the spacing right while picking up stitches for the second sleeve.  I must have tried five or six times before giving up and packing the sweater away in a project bag.  I told myself I’d only be putting it away for a week or two, just long enough to clear my head and return to it with fresh eyes.

Six months later…

I get my strongest urges to knit in mid- to late-summer.  It’s that back-to-school feeling in the air, combined with over air-conditioned rooms, a desire to hurry along the rest of summer (and usually lose myself in a good Netflix binge), and daydreams of cozy autumn evenings by the fire.  Last week, finding myself suddenly hooked on Pretty Little Liars and needing a good excuse to spend all day watching it, I picked up this sweater again.  It still took me two or three tries to get those sleeve stitches evenly spaced (same story when picking up stitches for the button bands and neck trim — is anybody actually good at picking up stitches?!), but I was so eager to just finish the thing.  This morning I sewed on the buttons and gave it a good blocking, and by dinner it was dry.  I threw on a rumpled dress, grabbed a sprig of silk flowers, and ran out into the backyard to snap some photos in the fading light.  It’s funny how you can let a thing languish without care for months and then pick it back up with such fervor, racing to a self-imposed finish line.

The pattern for this sweater is pretty much perfect, although I do wish I’d made the sleeves a bit shorter.  I actually did shorten them from the dimensions called for in the pattern, but they grew considerably after blocking.  The yarn is wonderful too — that perfect semi-solid coloring that I love so much.  The only thing I would change, if I had it to do over again, would be to choose a more neutral color.  This sweater is so soft and pretty, I want to wear it with everything — but the color (in addition to kind of clashing with my pink hair) doesn’t go with as many of my dresses as I’d like.  Maybe a good excuse to buy more dresses.  😉

Next up, I’d really like to knit the Little Brown Cardi, maybe in Quince & Co Chickadee in Pea Coat.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Christine permalink
    July 22, 2015 10:17 am

    It is so beautiful!!!!! I love everything about it. The color and yarn are so lovely. I think you need some more dresses 🙂 Okay I am off to see you on ravelry.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      July 22, 2015 10:19 am

      Thank you so much!! Haha, and I definitely agree about the dresses! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. Summer of Basics | Sunshine and Ravioli

Leave a Reply

