Skip to content

A world where {paper} roses bloom

March 31, 2015

Tissue paper poppies

A beautiful mess

Watercolor paper peonies

Paper bouquetCubby holes

Finch feeder

Pink

Tissue paper poppiesPaper flower

Spring mantel

Sorry to be away from this space for so long!  I’ve gotten so caught up with posting semi-regularly on my personal style blog, I’ve kind of neglected everything else.  So what else have I been up to?  I seem to be obsessed with floral everything lately, from beautiful stationery by Rifle Paper Co. and 1canoe2, to ultra-feminine tops and dresses, to crafting my own paper blossoms.

The paper flowers I’ve made so far have come from tutorials by Lia Griffith.  The first ones pictured are tissue paper poppies, the yellow and pink ones are cupcake wrapper peonies, and the rest are kind of a riff on her technique for making a crepe paper ranunculus.  I say it’s a riff because I just used birthday party streamers instead of the heavier Italian crepe paper, and I didn’t shape the petals exactly the way she did.  With both the peonies and the ranunculuses (ranunculi?), I first painted the white paper with watercolor paints.  That’s another thing I’ve been getting into lately.  In the last picture you can catch a little glimpse of my first two paintings: portraits of my cats, Buddy and Sally.

With all of the crafting I’ve been doing, we decided to rearrange things a little bit in the dining room to carve out a corner for my supplies.  I found the adorable cubby shelves at Target; below that is a little microwave cart full of paper, paints, brushes, my sewing machine, and all of my flower supplies.  It’s so convenient!

Oh!  I also cut off all my hair and dyed some of it pink, but the color faded away after about a week (and now I’ve just got really pretty blonde highlights).  Still trying to decide whether or not to go full pink next time, but I’ve got about 3 weeks to make up my mind before my appointment.

Last weekend I attended a short workshop at my local library on how to make altered books.  I’ve been playing around with different techniques, and once I get a few more pages done I’ll take some pictures and share about that project here.  Until then…

xoxo

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 1, 2015 10:10 am

    Lovely!!! I bought water colors in January but haven’t gotten to use them much but I am hoping after the move to try more. I love all your flowers I’ve been seeing. Your cubbies are so cute. I’m going to have a new space for crafts in our new home (that I will be sharing with my kids). We won’t have much money to spend on it so I have no idea how I am going to make it look nice. But I many need some cubbies 🙂

Leave a Reply

