Skip to content

The snow day without any snow

November 15, 2014

Woodsmoke

Buddy on the mantel again

Fire

Sally watching the fire

Our big blizzard...lamesauce!

Today was supposed to be amazing.  They were predicting 3-5 inches of snow.  I spent all day yesterday running around, gathering supplies to make sure we had everything we needed to stay well-fed, warm, and entertained for the next few days.  I bought firewood, popcorn, good beer, and the snuggliest sweater.  We were ready to be snowed in.

The snow was supposed to start around 9 or 10 this morning.  I wanted to wait until it started before taking outfit pictures, but by 10:30 I couldn’t wait any longer.  Just as we went out on the deck, the first few flakes began to fall.  A few minutes after we came back inside, big fat flakes started to fall.  A lot of them, coming down really fast.  It was so beautiful!  In hindsight, I wish that I’d grabbed my camera and run to the window to capture them — but I didn’t, because I thought it was just the beginning of our beautiful mini-blizzard.

Five minutes later, while Flavio was downstairs building a cozy blaze in our newly-functional fireplace, the snow stopped.  We got a few more flurries a couple hours later, but what you see on the leaves there is pretty much the sum total of our first snowfall.  What a letdown!  I’m sure we’ll get plenty of snow this winter, but there’s nothing quite as special as the First Snow…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2014 5:03 am

    I’m always let down when they say we are going to get snow and not much happens. I am even that way in March when everyone else is sick of it. I was hoping for more this past Friday. I just hope we get a bunch from Christmas. Now I am off to Tumblr to see your outfit from yesterday 🙂

    • whitney marie permalink*
      November 16, 2014 12:07 pm

      I’m not a big fan of snow if I have to go somewhere, because I hate driving in it, but I love being snowed in! We did end up getting a little more snow overnight, but not much. And they got a lot more in my hometown, which has made me very jealous and homesick. I have very mixed feelings about snow at Christmas — I love the idea of it, but just thinking about driving home to visit family (150 miles away) gives me hives. Last year we got snow at Christmas and I ended up missing out on celebrating with my family. But then my mom came to visit after Christmas, and I got to go home in early January, and meanwhile my husband & I had a very quiet and cozy holiday at home — so it all worked out, I guess 🙂

Leave a Reply

