Skip to content

Nesting

November 6, 2014

November things

Naismith Valley Park

Falling leavesFairytale frolic

Naismith Valley Park

City girl

Fall sunrise

Majolica Green

Sally

Naismith Valley ParkNaismith Valley Park

Elijah per Pietro

Buddy on the mantel

Naismith Valley Park

Civic cutie

Life has been a little bit of everything lately, although not too much cooking.  Dinner still happens, of course, but with much help and with very little fanfare.  And there’s been no baking…I should really remedy that soon.  Maybe something savory, though.  I’m all sugared out after Halloween.  We’ve been spending more time in the basement, trying to finally get it done.  Flavio painted yesterday, and it’s just beautiful.  Exactly what I wanted.  The color is Majolica Green, by Sherwin-Williams.  We’ve got an appointment to have the chimney cleaned next Thursday, and we’re waiting to shampoo the carpet until after that.  Then it’s just furniture & finishing touches!  I’m looking forward to many cozy nights knitting in front of the fire this winter.

Earlier this week I started re-reading Little Women, for probably the 6th or 7th time.  I just love that book so much.  It’s an especially nice reminder to me as we enter the holiday season, to be kind and loving and content with the blessings I have (and not sit around pining for more).  I’m also knitting a little elephant for a sweet friend who just had her first baby.  I may have promised Flavio it would be ready to mail by the end of October, but the poor little dear still needs arms & legs.  Soon, soon.  Maybe by Monday.

I’m sorry I’ve neglected this space so much lately.  I’ve been posting daily outfit photos at a new Tumblr.  It’s a little experiment, and I’m loving it so far.  It’s forcing me to be more creative with my wardrobe and my hair & makeup, and it’s also making me get over my hatred of being photographed (though I’m still not a big fan of looking directly at the camera, clearly — my face goes all derpy).  Anyway, I’d love for you to follow along with me over there, and I’ll try to post here again soon — maybe with this year’s Thanksgiving menu?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2014 2:34 pm

    Great pictures. Your room looks great. That is such a nice shade of green. I’d love to know more about Thanksgiving menu.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      November 7, 2014 2:45 pm

      Thanks Christine! 🙂 I’m so happy with how the green turned out…we’ve had some bad luck with colors not turning out as we’d hoped, but the Sherwin-Williams paints always come out very true to the little sample cards. I’ll try to gather up all of my recipes and post a final menu this weekend. In the past few years we’ve done some fun variations, but this year we’re going pretty traditional.

Leave a Reply

