Skip to content

Autumn haze

October 15, 2014

Tiny pumpkins

Candle in kitchen

Leaves

Acorn on the windowPumpkins & leaves

La Befana handmade felt ornament

Buddy, 14 months

La Befana handmade felt ornamentOOTD 9/28/14

Autumn Fruit Bowl VI

Leaves

Late September

I’m sorry that it’s been so long since I’ve posted anything here — in the past month, my workload has almost tripled.  With all of that busyness, I’ve had very little time to cook anything special or work on much crafting.  A couple days ago I picked up my camera for the first time in over 2 weeks.  This golden autumn light we’ve been getting is just gorgeous, and the tree in my front yard (a sweet gum, I think?) is engulfed in flame-red leaves.  Beautiful.

The tiny bit of crafting I’ve done lately was when I stitched up a little Befana ornament from some felt scraps.  Befana is similar to Santa Claus in Italy — they do have Santa, of course (Babbo Natale), but Befana fills the stockings for Ephiphany.  The general story, as told in Tomie dePaola’s wonderful book, is that Befana was sweeping her porch when the Magi walked by and asked her if she wanted to join them on their journey to Bethlehem to visit the baby Jesus.  Befana declined, saying she was too busy, and the Magi continued on their way.  As Befana continued with her sweeping, she thought about their offer, and decided to join the Magi afterall.  She spent all day baking sweets for the baby Jesus, but by the time she was ready, she had lost track of the procession.  She ran to catch up, and ran so fast she took off flying on her broom.  She never did find the Magi, so she left some sweets at every house that had a child, just in case one of them was the baby Jesus.  There’s also a really fascinating Wikipedia article about the history of the legend of Befana, the possible pagan origins of her character, and the symbolism of her sweeping.  Also, if anybody’s interested in a pattern for this ornament, let me know!  If there’s enough interest (like, more than 2 people?), I’ll get to work on it.  I’ve never written a pattern before, and I want to take my time and do it right, so this isn’t something that would be ready for this Christmas — but definitely would be ready for next year!

I hope you’re all having a lovely autumn and enjoying the beautiful leaves that never seem to look the same two days in a row! 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2014 3:56 am

    Yes – I would be interested. I hadn’t heard of Befana before I saw yours. I love the story and the ornament. Your outfit is very cute and I love your bun. I have to go back to playing with my hair.

Leave a Reply

