Skip to content

Autumn impressions

September 11, 2014

Orange mums

Fall tablescape

Chicken pot pie

Sally looking outside

Red kettle on the stovetop

New dress!Binary birthday dress

Chicken pot pie

Dining room in fall

Fall magazines

Leaves on the driveway

Today’s the first day that I would really call cool.  Chilly, even.  Everything is turning orange & brown, stores are full of gourds and goblins, and tonight I’m making soup for dinner.  I’ve recently gotten a few new dresses from Modcloth, and now I’m completely obsessed with twirling through each day in a flirty frock.  I’m turning 30 at the end of this month, and although I’ve never had a negative attitude toward aging (and absolutely don’t consider 30 even remotely close to “old”), I’m struggling with this milestone.  I’m sure I’ll get over it — cake & presents certainly help! — but at the moment I’m feeling a little melancholy and trying to surround myself with as much light and beauty and meaning as possible.  Get out of the house a bit.  Read more books, watch less tv (we finally bit the bullet and canceled cable this week).  Throw open the windows and breathe in this beautiful autumn air.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2014 12:11 pm

    How did I miss this post? I guess I haven’t been on Bloglovin for a while. These past few weeks have been a whirlwind for me. I love your cozy fall pictures. I know birthdays can be tough for a lot of people. I loved my 30’s and I’m sure you will too, because don’t we have the same life? Except that I am a whole decade older than you and don’t drink coffee. I’d love to get rid of our tv except I am pretty sure my husband would divorce me and my kids would look for a new mom. We do have Netflix and Amazon but I get sick of the noise (because I am almost 40 – ha). I hope you feel better about your birthday soon and I hope you share pictures of your cake and presents.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      September 16, 2014 2:46 pm

      Thank you!! 🙂 30 is hard for me because I really thought I would have a baby by now, and I’ve been in denial about it a little bit, but seeing that 3 in front of my age just makes it so…real. We’re starting to look into adoption, but it’s all so overwhelming, and I know it’s going to be another 5 years (at least) before we have the money and make it through the whole process. Plus, I feel like by 30 I should have some things figured out, and I really don’t. Oh well. Life’s a process, right? Anyway, I’m just gonna focus on the cake! Haha 🙂 And you’ve already seen the presents — all those Modcloth dresses! I was too impatient to wait until my actual birthday, so my husband and my mom gave me the dresses early. Because they know how I get when I have to wait for stuff. (It’s not pretty.)

      • September 16, 2014 3:36 pm

        I’m sorry. That sounds really difficult. We had to wait to have kids for financial reasons too (my husband went to school a month after we got married) but we didn’t have to go through the challenging process of adopting. I agree that life is a process and I think making it through the hard stuff makes the happy stuff more happy and wonderful.

        Your dresses are wonderful. Those are some good birthday presents. Almost 30 looks wonderful on you! 🙂

      • whitney marie permalink*
        September 17, 2014 1:19 pm

        Thank you so much for all of your kind words, always ❤

Leave a Reply

