Skip to content

hello, September!

September 2, 2014

Leaves changing color

Leaves changing color

Orange leaf and terra cotta pots

Bowl of local apples

Catnaps

Shoes

Tights

Braided bun

September, you’re finally here!  I was starting to think it’d never happen.  The hot weather will still hang around here for a few more weeks, but it’s not so bad with the already noticeably shorter days.  The breeze has a hint of coolness in the mornings.  I even wore a sweatshirt yesterday!  The kettle was a permanent fixture on our stovetop this past weekend.   Little clumps of leaves are changing colors, and a few have started twirling to the ground.  Local apples are popping up at the market, including my favorite tiny ones from Missouri that I buy in 3-lb bags at the grocery store.  It’s still a little too warm for soup, but fall is definitely in the air.

Growing up, I always loved trying to kind of reinvent myself in preparation for a new school year.  I find myself doing it in adulthood as well.  Since my budget absolutely does not allow for a whole new wardrobe every year, I’ve been re-imagining old pieces.  Sweaters that I stopped wearing because they shrunk lengthwise are given new life when layered over an old dress that was too drab for spring.  Dresses that seemed a little short are perfect paired with tights.  A little bit of shoe polish & elbow grease make a 6-year old pair of mary-janes look brand new again.  Of course I’ve added a few new things, too — a navy blue cardigan with pockets, a couple of pretty dresses, some colorful tights, a belt, cheap oxfords.  And I’m practicing a bunch of new hairstyles, like this braided bun.

Has autumn started to arrive where you are?  What’s your go-to style for fall?  Have you overdosed on pumpkin-flavored stuff yet?  (I’ll admit to going overboard on that front already — pumpkin spice coffee creamer, pumpkin spice tea, and a pumpkin spice candle all came home with me from Target the other day!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2014 3:42 am

    Your pictures are beautiful. And I love reading about your style. I focus so much on crafts and my kids that I tend to neglect that part of my life.

    Well we have had a cool August and are now having a hot September which messes me up. I bought one dress on sale at JJill and it actually has short sleeves but looks very fall. I work at a school so I really needed a new dress. I’m not sure what I’ll do for clothes when the weather gets cooler. You have totally inspired with all your hair pins and hair pictures. I actually wore a french braid (a little messy) to school for the first time.

    I did have a pumpkin frappe the other day but otherwise I haven’t had anything. I don’t drink coffee. And it still feels like summer. I am sewing for back to school for my kids (who start next week thankfully) as quick as I can so I haven’t had much time for baking.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      September 4, 2014 7:17 am

      Thanks, Christine! 🙂 Our summer didn’t get really hot until August — I was so hoping that we could just skip the heat this year, but then it came on strong in August. But actually, it was still a pretty mild summer for us…typically we have 10+ days of 100 degree weather, and this year I think we only had 1 or 2. I’m hoping that today is our last day in the 90s. The temp is supposed to drop 20 degrees by tomorrow, and then supposed to stay in the 70s and 80s for the next 10 days (and rain almost every day). Will definitely be breaking out the soup pot next week! 🙂

      I really want to try a French braid soon! My mom always hated doing them, so I’ve only worn my hair that way a few times in my life, and I never learned how to do it for myself. I pinned a tutorial the other day, though, and it seems pretty straightforward.

      You don’t drink coffee?! :O

      • September 4, 2014 5:24 pm

        Yes – I pinned your pin and have been using it. Mine are kind of messy but I did them for work both days this week. I am hoping with practice that they look better. Let me know if you have any tips on making them neat. I am definitely not cutting my hair now. I want it to keep growing. I might have a coffee at a wedding if I am bored (I don’t drink alcohol either) but really I am just a tea drinker 🙂

Leave a Reply

