Skip to content

Fading into fall

August 17, 2014

Quilting projects

Is August dragging on a little too long for anyone else out there?  I’m really struggling this month.  We’ve had a few days that have felt just enough like early autumn to make me really crave September.  You can see here that a few orange leaves have already started to fall from the big sycamore tree in our backyard.  I started the hexie quilt, and I’ve finished about half of the quilting on the patchwork quilt for my bed, but my interest is waning.  Mostly I’m frustrated with my sewing machine and just ready to be done with the thing.  I don’t think I’ll ever try to machine quilt something this big by myself again (I’ve already decided that the hexie quilt will be sent to a pro for quilting, and my woolly winter log cabin quilt will be hand-tied).

I’d love to just sleep through the next couple of weeks, and dream about cardigans and jewel-toned tights and these adorable mary-janesPumpkin spice lattes and my favorite apple cakeSoup, soup, and more soup.  Are you sick of this month yet?  What are you most looking forward to about fall?  And what’s your favorite soup??

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2014 3:47 am

    August is always bittersweet for me. I love the fall so much but when fall comes I go from working one a day a week to two. And less time with the kids which hurts. How big is the quilt you are quilting? I love to make soups and stews. It is hard to pick a favorite and it feels like it has been so long since I have been it hot soup cooking mode. I do really love to make a spicy pumpkin soup. I also love a broccoli cheddar soup I make and chicken noodle. It is hard to pick one. There was one I made last winter that I can’t remember the name but had sausage in it. I think that was a stew and I thought that was my favorite. I may have only made it once before the weather turned.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      August 18, 2014 8:45 am

      Aww, I can see less time with your kids definitely being hard. Although come to think of it, my mom was always REALLY happy that August = back to school. Haha, I guess we weren’t such good kids 😉

      The quilt I’m making is for my queen size bed…I haven’t really measured it, but I think it’s about 85″x90″. I’m not really sure how you’re supposed to hold something like that while you’re feeding it through the machine? I roll both sides toward the line I’m quilting, and then I drape the length of the quilt over my shoulder (I’m sewing at the dining table, so as I feed it through the machine, it goes across the table). It’s so heavy, and it’s starting to really bother my neck/shoulder, so I only work on it for an hour or two at a time. But I just want to be done!!

      I don’t think I’ve ever tried a spicy pumpkin soup, but it sounds delicious! I love broccoli cheddar, although my very favorite is clam chowder. Really any kind of chowder, but clam is my absolute favorite. Last August when my husband went to Maine for work, he got to eat clam chowder and lobster rolls, and I was so crazy jealous!

  2. August 22, 2014 10:15 am

    I’ve been snacking on the apple cake I made last weekend and I am going to have to make more tomorrow. I’m thinking maybe some grated apple to give it more apple flavor. They have been selling mums at the store these last couple weeks and I couldn’t help but buy a few. I’m certainly ready for fall and soups and all things PUMPKIN! I’m already thinking about how I can adapt my apple cake recipe to a pumpkin with cream cheese frosting. Fall is my favorite season and October my favorite month!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      August 22, 2014 12:09 pm

      A pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting sounds awesome! I love to make an applesauce spice cake (with homemade applesauce) with cream cheese frosting. October is my favorite month too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

