Skip to content

Southwestern Potato & Kale Omelets

July 16, 2014

Sizzle sizzle

Potatoes & peppers

Southwestern potato & kale omelets

Southwestern potato & kale omelets

So, last week I made the Chard & Saffron omelets from Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plenty.  Of course they tasted amazing (what Ottolenghi recipe doesn’t?), but I knew the recipe would lend itself well to variation.  Here’s a riff on that recipe that I tried tonight, and I have to say that I liked it even better than the original.

Southwestern Potato & Kale Omelets

(adapted from a recipe by Yotam Ottolenghi)

serves 2

1 large (8-10 oz) yukon gold potato, peeled and diced
olive oil
2 green onions, thinly sliced
3 mini sweet peppers, finely chopped (I used 1 each of red, orange, and yellow)
1 small bunch of kale, stems discarded, leaves finely shredded
5 eggs
1/4 c. milk
1/2 tsp. southwestern seasoning (I use this one from Penzeys; alternatively, use a mix of salt & chili powder)
vegetable oil
1/4 c. sour cream
1/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese
hot sauce, for serving (optional)

Place potatoes in a small pot and cover with cold water.  Bring to a boil, add a big pinch of salt, reduce heat and simmer for 5 minutes.  Drain potatoes and set aside.  Heat olive oil in a medium cast iron skillet.  Sauté green onions and peppers for 2 minutes, then add cooked potatoes.  Season with a little bit of salt & pepper and continue cooking, stirring occasionally, until potatoes begin to brown.  Add kale and stir until greens are wilted.  Adjust seasoning to taste.  Set aside to cool (if your pan is crazy hot, you may want to transfer potato-kale mixture to a bowl).

Whisk together eggs, milk, and southwestern seasoning in a 3- to 4-cup liquid measuring cup or small bowl with a spout.  Heat 1 tsp. vegetable oil over medium-high heat in a 9- to 10-inch nonstick skillet.  When the oil is hot, pour a quarter of the egg mixture into the pan and swirl the pan around to evenly distribute.  Cook 2-3 minutes, then carefully flip and cook another 1-2 minutes.  Remove omelet from pan and set aside to cool.  Repeat three more times with the remaining egg mixture.  Meanwhile, preheat oven to 325°F and line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper.

When omelets and potato-kale mixture are cool, begin assembling (I find it’s easiest to do this directly on the baking sheet, as the omelets tear easily once filled).  Spread 1 Tbsp. sour cream over half of each omelet, top with a quarter of the potato-kale mixture, and top with 1 Tbsp. shredded cheese.  Fold each omelet in half (the empty side over the filled side, like you’re closing a book), then carefully fold in half again to create a wedge shape.  Warm filled omelets in preheated oven for 10 minutes, until cheese has melted.  Serve with hot sauce.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2014 10:23 am

    That looks and sounds really good. I make scrambled eggs a lot and just throw stuff in because it is easy and tasty. Your recipe sounds like the extra work is worth it. Now I have to go look up that cookbook. I have a book buying problem lately. I may have ordered three books yesterday. Or they might have jumped in my cart and ordered themselves.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      July 17, 2014 11:53 am

      Thanks! I’ve been doing these omelets for dinner…what feels quick & easy at 6pm would be way too much work for me in the morning! 🙂 Plus, I love breakfast-for-dinner (and my husband thinks it’s weird), so this is a nice compromise. Lol, books have a funny way of jumping into carts, don’t they?? I have so many cookbooks on my wishlist right now! I can’t wait for our new library to open so I can go a little crazy in the cookbook section.

Leave a Reply

