Skip to content

Squash Puppies

July 15, 2014

Squash puppies

My love affair with hush puppies began early.  It’s one of my strongest taste memories from childhood (along with chocolate tofu ice cream — I wasn’t allowed to have dairy as a kid).  These days, my favorite hush puppies come from Terrebonne, a cajun/creole restaurant in downtown Lawrence.  They’re big and a little spicy, with chunks of corn and peppers.

Last night, I was scratching my head for a side dish to go with our dinner.  I also had a bunch of summer squash in the fridge that my mom sent home with me this weekend, so I decided to make some fritters.  When I saw the peppers, corn, and green onions in the crisper drawer, inspiration struck.

Normally for a fritter, I shred the vegetables on the coarse side of a box grater.  But I really wanted the squash to have a smoother texture here so the chunks of corn and pepper would shine like they do in Terrebonne’s hush puppies, so I finely shredded the squash instead.  I also used a fine mesh sieve and a wooden spoon to press as much water as possible out of the squash, but it was still a little wet — this allowed me to skip the egg I would normally add for binding, making these squash puppies vegan!  They could also easily be made gluten-free by using a gluten-free flour blend.

Squash Puppies

makes 8-10 fritters

1 medium (or 2 small) yellow summer squash – ends trimmed, cut in half lengthwise and seeds scraped out
2 mini sweet red peppers (or 1/2 a large red bell pepper) – finely chopped
1 small to medium-sized ear of sweet corn – kernels removed
2 green onions – finely chopped
1/4 c. all-purpose flour
1-2 tsp. Old Bay seasoning (I used 1 tsp, but I think I would’ve liked a little more spice)
vegetable oil, for frying

Using a box grater, finely shred the squash.  Place the shredded squash in a fine mesh sieve and press on it with the back of a wooden spoon, to squeeze out as much liquid as possible (do this over a bowl, so you can add the liquid back to the batter later, if it’s too dry).  Let sit 5-10 minutes, then press on the squash again.  Put the squash in a medium-size bowl, and stir together with the peppers, corn, green onions, flour, and Old Bay.  Mixture should hold together when shaped into a small patty (about 2″ in diameter).  If the mixture is too wet, you may need to add a little more flour.  If the mixture is too dry, add a little bit of the reserved squash liquid.

Heat 1-2 Tbsp vegetable oil in a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat.  Shape batter into 2″ patties and gently drop into pan.  Fry 3-4 minutes per side, until deep golden brown.  Keep them small when shaping, and be very careful when flipping — the batter WILL hold together, but the lack of egg makes them a little fragile.  Drain on paper towels.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2014 3:03 pm

    I’m not sure I have had a hush puppy before though I love the name. Maybe I had one once at the Cracker Barrel when I was visiting my Grandma in Missouri. I have a little squash plant here and if it gives me so some squash I will have to try this. Or maybe I’ll just buy some 🙂

    • whitney marie permalink*
      July 15, 2014 3:15 pm

      Wow, you’ve never had one before?? I guess I take them for granted because, although I know they’re Southern, I’ve always eaten them here in Kansas. (And lol, I just ate at the Cracker Barrel literally three days ago!) The hush puppies at Terrebonne are a little different from most hush puppies I’ve ever had before…they’re spicier and they’ve got the little chunks of stuff. But I really like them that way! These squash puppies don’t really have the same fluffy texture as hush puppies, but the flavor is really similar to the ones at Terrebonne.

Leave a Reply

