Skip to content

July

July 4, 2014

Chickpea & quinoa salad

Watermelon & cucumber salad

Squirrel on the deck

Blackberry ice cream

Blackberry ice cream

Artwork by Lucile Prache

Wildflowers

Wildflowers

Flowers in the yard

Daylily

Ginger-peach iced tea & RIBS!

4th of July fashion

The past few days have been delicious…slow…spontaneous.  On Tuesday we went to a bar to watch the USA-Belgium game.  After regular time ended, I popped over to the farmer’s market set up in a parking lot around the corner and bought some beautiful cherry tomatoes and 3 tiny cukes.  I put cucumbers in everything these days, like the two salads I made this week: marinated chickpea & quinoa with lemon-dill vinaigrette, and watermelon-cucumber with lime-mint vinaigrette.  Feta gets crumbled into everything too…a little chunk of that goes a long way!

Thursday I made the custard base and blackberry puree for a batch of ice cream, followed by a super simple dinner of crab ravioli tossed with dill-chive butter and a salad with the last of the cherry tomatoes, some shaved cucumber, and tons of herbs.  After dinner we went downtown to take a walk.  We stopped at Rudy’s for a slice of pizza and a beer, then went to my favorite bookstore.  I found these greeting cards with watercolor prints by Lucile Prache.  I’m completely obsessed with everything in her Etsy store right now!

Today, for the 4th of July, we made some of our favorite things: slow-smoked barbeque baby back ribs, tzatziki potato salad, ginger-peach iced tea, and the blackberry ice cream for dessert (and mojitos on the deck! our only 4th of July tradition).  I feel like I was in the kitchen all day, so I’m looking forward to a little break tomorrow.  In the morning we’ll wake up early and go to the farmer’s market, and maybe go back to the arboretum we found when we made a wrong turn on our way to the lake last weekend.  (Or maybe just go to the lake?)  And I think a good long soak in the tub with this salt & seaweed bath bomb is definitely in order.

If the rest of July could go exactly like these first few days, I’d be in heaven!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2014 9:37 am

    Thank you for continuing to inspire me when it comes to meal planning. I know there is so much tasty produce this time of year but I just never know what to do for dinner in the summer. I have been wanting to make a watermelon salad like yours forever. I am glad I read this post before I went to the store. And your pictures are gorgeous! I hope you keep enjoying your summer!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      July 7, 2014 8:16 pm

      Aww, thank you so much!! The watermelon salad is so refreshing, especially with the mint. I think next time I would leave out the cucumbers, and maybe add some jalapeno. A few weeks ago I made a little salad with cantaloupe, red bell pepper, feta, and parsley (with a honey-lime vinaigrette). It was so good!! These salads all seem to come about from having bits & bobs of stuff in the fridge and realizing 5 minutes before the main part of our meal is done that we have no plan for a side dish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

