Skip to content

A day at the lake

June 29, 2014

To the beach!

My favorite barn on 458

Bloomington beach

Speed boat at Bloomington beach

Birds on Bloomington beach

Birds on Bloomington beach

Birds on Bloomington beach

Flavio at the beach

The Clinton Store

View on E 900th Rd

Today we finally went swimming at the lake.  There was a 50/50 chance we’d get rained out before we even got there, but we decided to try anyway.  And I’m so glad we did!  It wasn’t very crowded, the weather ended up being really lovely, and the water was so refreshing.  There were lots of feathers in the sand, and I even found a little seashell (lake-shell?) in the sand under Flavio’s beach towel.  It was pretty breezy today, which made the water kind of choppy, but I loved sitting shoulder-deep in the shallow waters and being gently rocked by the waves, watching the speed boats and jet skis zoom by.  So nice.  I want to go back every weekend, except maybe not next weekend, because I’m sure it’ll be ridiculously crowded for the holiday weekend.  (Also, how is it already time for the 4th of July?!??)

The drive to & from the lake is just as beautiful and relaxing as being at the beach.  Just enough curves and hills to keep it interesting, lots of trees and farms (the corn fields make my mouth water!), beautiful old barns, a gas station/bait shop where we like to stop for ice cream on the way home, and every now and then a view of boats on the water.  I can’t believe I get to live somewhere so beautiful. ❤

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2014 3:53 am

    Beautiful pictures!!!!! Every time I read your blog it makes me want a new camera.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      June 30, 2014 8:57 am

      Thank you!! I can only take credit for the pictures at the beach–the others were taken by my husband as I was driving 50 mph on county roads. But most of the credit goes to the camera, because it is awesome!!! We’d been wanting one for a long time (we have an old film SLR, a Minolta that my husband bought second-hand back in Italy, but we’re so lazy about getting film developed that we still haven’t developed the roll of pictures we took on a trip to Verona 3+ years ago!), and finally bit the bullet back in February. I’m so glad we did!! I was really intimidated about learning how to shoot in manual, but it didn’t take very long to get the hang of it.

Leave a Reply

