Skip to content

Well that didn’t take long…

June 11, 2014

More pillowcases!

Winterwoods ABCs sampler

Blackberry honey butter

This morning I finished my Winterwoods ABCs sampler!  I can’t believe how quickly I finished it, especially considering all of the other projects I’ve been working on.  It was a fun, quick pattern — really easy to pick up during those random empty moments throughout the day.  I also made another set of pillowcases with the other Robert Kaufman cotton lawn I bought recently.  This was the fabric that I’d intended to pair with the dusty pink edging, but after edging the navy pillowcases, I didn’t have enough left to edge these too.  I’m going to give these to my mom when I go home this weekend.  I just love making things for her!  She actually uses the things I make, so it never feels like a waste.  It helps that we have a similar aesthetic!  🙂

Alright, I have to tell you about my latest breakfast obsession: blackberry honey butter.  It’s so good on toast!  I think it would be fantastic on pancakes or freshly-baked buttermilk biscuits too.  I also made a dill & chive butter, which I really want to stir into scrambled eggs or mashed potatoes.  I got both recipes from a new Better Homes & Gardens canning magazine.

Blackberry Honey Butter:

Puree a handful of ripe blackberries and 1/4 cup of honey in a food processor, then strain to remove the seeds.  Using a mixer, beat 2 sticks of softened salted butter until light and creamy, then mix in the strained blackberry-honey puree.  Stir in a handful of roughly chopped blackberries.  Shape into 3-4 logs, wrap in waxed paper or plastic wrap, and refrigerate (or freeze for up to 3 months).

Ok, now go make blackberry honey butter and spread it on everything!

xoxo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2014 5:18 pm

    I guess I know what I am buying at the grocery store tomorrow; blackberries and that magazine. I love making those kinds of butter but haven’t done it for a while. The sampler is beautiful. I already told you the pillowcases are beautiful 🙂

    • whitney marie permalink*
      June 11, 2014 5:37 pm

      Thank you!! 😀

      I’ve only done a few compound butters before. Most of the recipes I run across are for savory butters, and they just don’t seem very useful for the way we eat, but now my eyes are opened to whole world of sweet & fruity compound butters, and I am so hooked! There’s a recipe for a raspberry butter in that magazine too. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

