Skip to content

A quiet day

June 5, 2014

Rainy day

Buddy, 10 months

Sally, 10 months

So much going on!

Winterwoods ABCs Sampler

I’ve got so much going on lately.  Today I’m taking it easy, nursing a cold, and working on the Winterwoods ABCs sampler (the embroidery shop finally got the piece of linen I ordered almost 3 months ago!).  This weekend I’m going to sew a couple pairs of pillowcases with some of this lovely floral lawn by Robert Kaufman, and maybe make the cookies & cream ice cream pie from my newest cookbook.  Hopefully Flavio will get some more work done in the basement, or at least hang our new coat rack by the front door.  I think we’re supposed to get more rain, and I’m looking forward to the cooler temps and quieter days.

xoxo

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2014 12:36 pm

    The lawn fabric is beautiful. I extra love all the colorways for the porcelain ones. Did you ever frame the last sampler you did? I love Winterwoods. I bought the kit last October but probably won’t get to it until I start and finish my son’s stocking. Maybe in 2015? It is good to plan ahead. Your pictures are beautiful. Hope you are feeling better today!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      June 7, 2014 9:52 pm

      Isn’t that fabric lovely?? And so much cheaper than Liberty! I’m using the Porcelain in Navy and the Park Floral in Tan (and edging that one with the Cambridge Lawn solid in Dusty Pink). I haven’t framed the other sampler yet, but hopefully I can get that done soon. I’m really enjoying Winterwoods! Weeks floss is so addictive…I’m actually working on some sketches for a sampler of my own design using Weeks.

      I love the stocking you made for your daughter! Will the one for your son be similar?

      • June 8, 2014 4:20 am

        I really love the navy fabric. That is my total favorite. I’m thinking maybe I should make some porcelain white placemats or a runner. I have such a hard time finding placemats that look nice and match everything we have going on in our home.

      • whitney marie permalink*
        June 9, 2014 8:58 am

        Oh, placemats would be so pretty!! I have a hard time with placemats too…my favorites are some quilted pink floral ones that I found on sale at Williams-Sonoma five or six years ago. They’re just so pretty & timeless.

  2. June 8, 2014 4:11 am

    I haven’t figured out my son’s stocking yet but I do want it to be similar – name, big design in the middle, and something little and cute at the bottom. I just haven’t picked out what patterns to use yet. And I have to order some linen. I should do that today so I am ready.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      June 9, 2014 8:59 am

      Did you do the rabbit from Winterwoods on your daughter’s stocking? I bet you could find some other little cute thing in the Winterwoods sampler for your son’s…my personal favorite is the little evergreen tree! 🙂

Leave a Reply

