Skip to content

Summer’s Coming

May 7, 2014

Sycamore tree

Soda Bottles

Emma playing soccer

Lemon granita

Bloomington East Swimming Beach

Please don’t throw rocks at me for saying this, but I honestly hate being outside in hot weather for longer than it takes to walk from my car to the store.  I’m not an outdoorsy person.  I hate bugs, I don’t enjoy getting sweaty, and I can get a rockin’ lobster-red sunburn even in the shade.  I like cooking and knitting and cuddling with my (indoor only!) cats.  I bow down to the gods of air conditioning, and I really can’t comprehend how people live without it.  My most traumatic childhood memory isn’t when my dad accidentally sucked my foot up in the vacuum cleaner, or even when my parents split up — it’s that one time in 1995 when our A/C broke for a few days in early September and I thought I was going to die (the rest of my family slept outside by the pool to enjoy a little breeze, but I stubbornly insisted on sleeping in the house.  I was also the only one who didn’t wake up covered in mosquito bites the next day).  I’m pretty sure the pool in our backyard is the only reason I ever went outside as a child.

But I’m trying to change.  I’m trying to find an appreciation for summer, for sunshine, and for impromptu adventures that never seem to happen any other time of year.  I’m trying to spend less time in front of screens and more time exploring this place I’ve been calling home for three years (but still barely know).  And I’m also trying to learn how to use this camera I bought right before our trip to Italy, and I can only take so many pictures of the cats.  [For anyone who’s curious: it’s a Nikon D3200, and the lenses I use are the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 VR and the AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G IF-ED.  Pretty basic beginner stuff, I think, but I’m really happy with the photos I’ve been getting with it.  Can’t really see myself ever growing out of this camera, to be honest!  The 40mm Micro-Nikkor will probably be the next lens I purchase.]

So, I’m trying to get outside more.  Even if it’s just to water the weeds that are growing in my flower beds, or to get a little post-dinner treat at our favorite ice cream parlour downtown.  I’m just starting to realize the variety of things to do here in & around my town — today we drove along a winding county highway south of town to reach the Bloomington East swimming beach at Clinton Lake.  A beach!  In Kansas!  We didn’t have our swimsuits with us, but I had fun just dipping my feet in the water and squishing the sand between my toes.  On the drive back home, we stopped at a little convenience store/bait shop in Bloomington Township, where we bought ice cream because it was hot, hot, hot outside.  (It’s unreal how often our outings involve a tasty treat.  Truthfully, about half the time I’m actually being bribed with ice cream if I agree to go outside.)

I’m looking forward to more adventures & expeditions this summer — spending whole days at the beach, walks through South Park with a Sylas & Maddy’s ice cream cone or an ice-cold pop from Mass Street Soda, disc golf at Centennial, taking the telescope out to the backyard or the country, picnics by the lake, camping for the first time (!!!), a road trip to the mountains in Colorado.  This summer is going to be awesome!

xoxo

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2014 5:22 pm

    Growing up in dry Utah, I always hated the cold. I could never get warm! I never minded the hot summers, air conditioning was always around. Then we went on our honeymoon in Cancun in August, and for pretty much the first time I experienced humidity. We learned pretty quickly that I turn into the worst, most miserable person in hot humid conditions. I don’t like sweating, I mean who does, but I am so not used to it and it just grosses me out SO MUCH! So I hear ya. I’ll be over here, in the shade of the shade, with a cold, cold drink covered in sunscreen. And bugs, oh man. I haaaaate bugs! So camping- not me. Never. I hate it. Dirt and bugs and creepy crawlies and snakes and ugh, no AC? No way! You are brave!

    My family is going on a roadtrip in the mountains in Colorado too! I’m so excited, my mom’s family is from there and every year growing up we would go to the family reunion and drive through Ouray and Silverton- soooo beautiful! We haven’t been back as a family in years, and we are all going and it’s going to be so awesome!

    Where are you going? When?? You are going to LOVE it!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      May 7, 2014 6:12 pm

      Haha, I hear ya about the humidity! It usually stays fairly dry here, and when it gets humid it only lasts for a few days until we have a big storm. But Flavio grew up in the middle of rice fields, which are flooded with standing water during the summer, so he just rolls his eyes when I whine about humidity.

      That’s so cool that you’re going to Colorado this summer too! Our family reunions are always in Arkansas (ugh, talk about humidity!), but I’m skipping it this year. A friend of mine from college is a ranger at Rocky Mountain National Park, so we’re gonna go visit her in Estes Park in June or July. I’m really excited! I haven’t been to Colorado since I was a baby (and that doesn’t really count, does it?)

    • whitney marie permalink*
      May 9, 2014 2:22 pm

      omggggg found out the lake has air-conditioned cabins to rent…I can camp without sweating to death!!

  2. May 8, 2014 3:30 am

    While I enjoy going outside in the Spring and Summer, I am always a little sad when winter is over. That is because I love an excuse to stay in my house all the time and being cozy cooking and making stuff. I love Colorado. I haven’t been for 17 years but I remember how amazing it was. I’m looking forward to your outdoor photos.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      May 9, 2014 2:26 pm

      I’ve never been a big fan of winter because I’ve always hated having to drive in the ice/snow. But now I work from home, and my husband is also able to work from home when he wants/needs to, so this year I finally started to appreciate the coziness of the season. 🙂

  3. May 9, 2014 10:47 am

    Hi Whitney – This has nothing to do with your post but I couldn’t find your email. I just discovered someone on tumblr – The Murmuring Cottage Have you seen her (I don’t know what you call it – a page? ) tumble thingie. http://themurmuringcottage.tumblr.com/ It is so wonderful that I had to share. Maybe you have seen it because it I did see the link on the side of posie gets cozy. Usually I click on the link and am disappointed because the other blogs aren’t as beautiful as hers but The Murmuring Cottage is gorgeous. So I am so please I had to tell someone and I thought you would like it too.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      May 9, 2014 2:24 pm

      Oh wow, that page is beautiful!! I’ve never seen it before. Thanks for sharing!!! I can’t wait to spend a day or two getting lost in all of those gorgeous images.

Leave a Reply

