Skip to content

Crafty Resolutions

January 1, 2014

Sewing

I won’t pretend that I don’t make New Year’s resolutions.  Everyone does, whether they admit them out loud or not.  I’ve got the old standbys…eat healthier, save more money, be a better person.  Nobody wants to hear about those.  But I do enjoy reading about everyone’s crafty resolutions, and so I thought I’d share mine too:

  • Take better care of my sewing machine.  Last week I’d convinced myself that I needed a brand new machine because mine is cheap and keeps messing up, but maybe all my little Brother needed was a new needle and a good oiling.  I’m going to clean it out, too, after I finish the quilt (since I’ll need to remove the walking foot to put the presser foot back on, that will be a good time to clean the feed dogs).  Sad to say that I’ve had this machine for 3 years now, and this is the first time I’ve done any of these things.
  • Make a proper cover for my sewing machine, instead of this old pillowcase that my grandma was giving away.
  • Invest in beautiful materials to inspire beautiful work.  There’s such a significant difference in the quality of fabric you can get at a real quilt shop versus a big craft store, not to mention the invaluable advice (same goes for yarn, of course).  I’m hopeful that the extra money spent on materials translates to a quilt or sweater or toy that lasts for generations.  Beautiful tools also make the process more pleasurable.
  • Try a new craft or two.  Right now I’m particularly interested in weaving and candlemaking.  My local yarn store offers weaving classes, and the last two issues of Taproot have had articles about candlemaking.
  • Knit another sweater.  I’ve got loads of sweaters in my Ravelry queue right now.  I love my Reine cardigan, but I think my 2014 sweater will be a pullover.
  • Sew something to wear.  I recently found a ton of cute plus-size sewing patterns from BurdaStyle, with this, this and this being my favorite of the novice patterns.
  • Set up a space just for my crafting.  I really hope that we can get my craft room finished this year, at least to the point where I can set up a desk or table for sewing and some shelves for storage.  I’ve been collecting ideas on a pinboard, and an IKEA is opening nearby in a few months.
  • Create something new.  My own pattern.  Not sure what it will be yet, or even what medium, but I really want to put something new out there.

I hope you all have a beautiful, happy new year!

xoxo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

