Skip to content

Recent FOs

December 30, 2013

Farmers Market

Mom's Strada

Hand-painted Christmas Cookies

Hadley's Doll

Storybook Pillowcases

I’ve done a lot of crafty projects recently (including finishing up a project that I started 2 or 3 years ago!).  From the top:

A basket full of knitted vegetables for my niece, who’s very into play cooking at the moment.  From the pattern Farmers Market, by Jennifer Small.  {ravelry}

A warm, woolly red headband with a bow for my mom (I also made one for myself).  From the pattern Strada, by knittedblissJC.  {ravelry}

Cream cheese sugar cookies with royal icing and hand-painted details.  The cookie recipe is from King Arthur Flour, and the royal icing is from LilaLoa.  I can’t seem to find the KAF recipe online, which was on a card that came with the polar bear cookie cutter.  I painted the details with a regular paint brush and gel food coloring that I thinned with a little vanilla extract.  The little gingerbread house was my favorite!

A fabric doll, another gift for my niece.  I used simple unbleached muslin for her face, hands, & legs.  The bodice and skirt are from the Glimma collection by Lotta Jansdotter.  Her hair is Rowan Wool Cotton in Bronze (leftover from a pair of faux-Ugg booties I knitted for my niece last year), and her face was hand-stitched with Weeks Dye Works hand-over-dyed embroidery floss in Kentucky Bluegrass (eyes) and Romance (lips).  From the pattern Nutcracker Doll, by Alicia Paulson (in her first book, Stitched in Time).

Hand-embroidered pillowcases.  This is the project I started years ago, and I finished the first pillowcase last winter.  In fact, I finished most of the second pillowcase last winter too, but just picked it up again yesterday when I ran out of thread while working on my quilt.  I purchased these pillowcases super cheap at Target, and the floss is all DMC.  From the pattern Storybook Pillowcases, by Alicia Paulson (in her second book, Embroidery Companion).

Tomorrow I’ll go buy some more thread and get back to work on my quilt.  After that’s done, I’m really not sure what project I’ll work on next.  Any suggestions?

xoxo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

