Skip to content

Recent Project Roundup

April 20, 2014

C is for Curella

Petal Pillowcase

Midsummer Sprigs ABCs Sampler

Decoupage trunk

Decoupage trunk

Just a quick post to share some recently (and not-so-recently) finished projects.

Right before we left for Italy, I embroidered a set of pillowcases for our bed.  They’re old pillowcases, from one of the first sets of sheets we bought when we were married.  I had actually planned this as a project that I could take with me on the trip, but once I started I just couldn’t put them down, and so the set was finished before we ever left town.  The pattern is “Petal Pillowcases,” from Alicia Paulson’s Embroidery Companion.  I used the same colors called for in the pattern, but I only enlarged the template by 200%.  Also, in the pattern, she places the monogram toward the bottom edge of the pillowcases, but I did it on the top edge so it wouldn’t bother me while I sleep (although to be honest, I’m a compulsive pillow-flipper, so most mornings when I wake up the monogram is face-down anyway).  I always think that I hate satin stitch, and that I’m terrible at it, but projects like this make me realize that I actually do love it.  What I really hate are densely-packed French knots.  So hard on the fingers!

The day after we got back from Italy, I went to my local embroidery shop to buy the materials I needed for the Midsummer Sprigs ABCs sampler and the Winterwoods ABCs sampler (both by Alicia Paulson…it’s really unfunny how obsessed I am with her patterns).  They didn’t have all of the Weeks colors that I needed, nor the smokey pearl linen for the Winterwoods sampler, but I got as much as I could and placed an order for the rest.  This was my first time stitching on black linen, and it was a lot more difficult than I anticipated.  I kept a white towel on my lap, but then a fat gray kitten would curl up on the towel.  Plus I really just don’t have good lighting with my current living room setup.  After about 2 weeks, I had done all I could do with the colors I had bought and had to set this project aside for another 2 weeks until the rest of the Weeks flosses came in.  I just finished late Wednesday night, so for now I’ve got it taped to the wall in the dining room — I’m hoping this will force me to actually frame it, instead of just setting it aside to be framed “someday” (like the previous 4 samplers I’ve made, all of which have been rolled up together in a towel for the past 2-3 years).

After I finished my sampler, I was bored and itching to make something fun.  I’ve been planning to make a little stuffed mouse for my niece this Christmas, and all of the attendant clothes & accessories, and I thought it would be fun to put everything in a little suitcase.  Well, I couldn’t find a good suitcase anywhere, but I did find this little chipboard trunk at Hobby Lobby.  I thought about painting it, but I wanted something quicker, so I settled on decoupage.  I picked out some fun scrapbook paper, as well as a tube of acrylic paint for the trim, and a bottle of matte Mod Podge.  The whole thing took about 24 hours to complete, including drying time.  For the inside, I used striped paper, so I kept the pieces pretty much whole (or cut them along the stripe lines).  For the outside, I tore the floral paper into random sizes & shapes.  I painted the trim with a couple coats of Folk Art in French Vanilla, then sealed it with the Mod Podge.  I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, and I think it’s going to be so adorable filled with doll clothes.  It’s definitely something I would’ve loved when I was a kid, so I hope my niece likes it too!

I’m all out of projects for now, although I’ve been swatching with a ball of Quince & Co. Sparrow, hoping to cast on for a new sweater soon.  I’d really like to join Dianna Walla’s Vasalong, or maybe knit Brise.  What projects are you working on?

xoxo

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2014 3:59 pm

    That trunk is such an awesome idea!!!! Is the mouse gonna be Alicia’s too? Are you dying waiting for the new patterns to come out? Because I am! Oh how I wish I had a Hobby Lobby near me- I miss that store so much. Whenever I go back to Utah, I always stock up- I send myself boxes filled with ribbons and crafty stuff. Your niece is going to go crazy over that trunk!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      April 20, 2014 6:31 pm

      Thanks! Inspiration totally struck right in the middle of the store (oh how I wish that would happen for me more often!). Yes, I’m going to make Alicia’s mouse, and yes I am dyyyyyyyyying waiting for the new patterns. Especially with all the little teases on the blog!! I was really hoping to make the mouse for her birthday, which is coming up in mid-May, and I was so disappointed I actually almost cried when Alicia wrote that she was aiming for the end of May (which to me means probably early June). Oh well, it gives me more time to make the clothes. Would you be interested in doing another swap?

      I can’t believe you guys don’t have Hobby Lobby! I’m so spoiled for craft shops in my area…within 3 miles of my house, I’ve got Hobby Lobby, Hancock Fabrics, and Michael’s, plus my local embroidery/quilt shop and a really nice fabric store downtown. Although sometimes I do miss Joann’s, which is where I usually bought supplies back at home.

      • Jessica permalink
        April 27, 2014 6:44 pm

        YES YES YES I want to do another swap!!!! My friend just gave me an old picnic basket- and being inspired by your trunk I’m gonna turn it into a place for all my Alicia critters to live in!

        Seriously, I’ll make you whatever you want. I just love making those tiny clothes!

        SF is strange. There is only one quilt shop, the rest of the fabric shops are all apparel and upholstery. So most of my fabric shopping is done when I am back home in Utah, and I do a lot of ordering on etsy. I have a Joann’s close by, but I only go there for notions. California is just getting hobby lobby’s built, and none of them are close to SF. Kinda annoying!

  2. April 23, 2014 2:58 pm

    I love it all. Your embroidery is so good. I think I’d love satin stitch if mine looked good. But I will need to practice because I want to make those pillow cases you made so bad. I love the sampler too. I have had my eye on the pattern for some time. It makes perfect sense to me to be obsessed with Alicia Paulson’s patterns. They are all so incredible and perfect like her blog. I am dying to see her new patterns. The suitcase is so cute too. What a wonderful gift! I am about to make a matching doll dress to the birthday dress I just finished and bloomers too. It all has to be done by Friday when my Stella turns 3. And I am knitting a sweater vest and have many other wips (many Christmas related) in the works.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      April 25, 2014 11:11 am

      Thanks so much! :) I forgot to add that the pattern calls for doing padded satin stitch, but I’m lazy so I just did regular satin stitch. However, I think if you did the padded satin stitch (where you do satin stitch, then backstitch an outline around it, then do more satin stitch on top of it), it might make your satin stitch look neater. I love the things you made for Stella’s birthday…what a lucky little girl!! And I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who starts working on Christmas gifts in the spring :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

