Skip to content

Queen Anne’s Lace Pillowcases {FO}

February 7, 2014

Queen Anne's Lace Pillowcases

This was a really quick, easy project.  I embroidered these super soft coral pillowcases for my mom, using this free pattern from Alicia Paulson.  My crafting has been kind of all over the place lately: I’m mostly done with the leg of one Child’s French Sock, I’ve been intermittently working on the giant rippled blanket I started crocheting more than a year ago, and I’ve purchased most of the fabric for my next quilt (but have only cut 3 of the prints).  I’m just not really “feeling it” with any of those projects — I don’t really like the yarn I’m using for the sock or the colors I picked for the blanket, and I’m wary of using my sewing machine or tiny cutting mat for a big project right now.

I’m going to embroider more pillowcases for myself, I think.  Strangely, I’ve done three pairs of pillowcases, and none of them have been for my own bed.  I think this would be a good project to travel with, as we’ve got a very exciting trip coming up soon (more on that later).  What I’d really love to be working on is this sweet sweater for spring.  I’ve always wanted to try knitting with linen, and this one looks like the perfect thing to wear over pretty flowered dresses.

Can’t wait to hop across the Atlantic, leave this snow behind, and enjoy an early spring!  I hope you’re all staying warm & toasty, or–better yet–soaking up some sunshine.

xoxo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2014 4:21 am

    The pillow cases are beautiful. You are making me want to make a pair. I have been there too when I’ve not been “feeling it” with projects. I’d love to see a picture of the children’s french socks. They sound interesting. Maybe you can put it on IG before you leave? Have a wonderful trip!!!!

    • whitney marie permalink*
      February 8, 2014 8:12 am

      Thank you! :) I had so much fun with these, I started embroidering some pillowcases for myself last night. I’ll post a pic of the socks later today, but they don’t really look like much now…it’s just the leg, and the yarn really isn’t a very good match for the pattern. I linked to the pattern page on Ravelry, though, if you want to see what the finished socks are supposed to look like. :)

      • February 8, 2014 12:56 pm

        I just checked and I love the pattern. I just signed up for a toe up sock knitting class. I only made one pair of socks so far and they were the other kind. I still want to see what yarn you picked though. I think you have great taste.

  2. whitney marie permalink*
    February 8, 2014 1:35 pm

    I’ve never tried toe-up socks (other than our Christmas stockings)…the figure-8 cast on is too weird for me :) This is actually my 2nd time trying to knit this pattern…the first time, I used Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in a really pretty pink, but I made a mistake early on and ended up frogging the socks. I’m not sure what I’m using now…I’m terrible at keeping track of my stash, and the label wasn’t kept with the yarn. I think it’s Louet Gems Fingering, in aqua. But it just seems too loose…I wish I’d gone down a needle size. Also, the yarn seems kinda shiny…I wish it were more woolly. Anyway, I’ll probably frog these too and re-knit the pattern when I come across a better yarn match :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

