Skip to content

House Plans

January 6, 2014

Craft Room - Before

Craft Room - Before

Craft Room - Before

Today our pipes are frozen and I’m in a really bad mood because I had to let down people that I love, so I’m going to a dream space in my head. I’m dreaming about my craft room in the basement, about getting it done and spending all day in there, making and crafting and stitching and seaming.   As you can see, it’s a real big mess.  When we bought the house, it looked a lot like all of the other bedrooms: dark, dusty, and covered in old lady wallpaper.  In the process of removing that crappy old black floral wallpaper, we discovered what we thought was mold but turned out to actually be old termite damage.  The whole wall (the one with the windows) had to be torn down and rebuilt, but unfortunately the workmen never returned to finish the job.  It was heartbreaking, and I still keep the room closed up so I don’t have to deal with it.  So this year, hiring a handyman to finish this room (and the rest of the basement) is priority #1.

Left column: Ivar shelves from Ikea; Sweet Sea Roses patterned paint roller from NotWallpaper. Right column: Wire Storage Basket from Kaufmann Mercantile; Melltorp table from Ikea; Stenstorp kitchen island from Ikea.

These are some of the ideas I have for the room, once we get the walls finished and the carpet cleaned.  Clockwise, from the top left: Ivar 2-section shelves from IKEA ($128); Wire Storage Baskets from Kaufmann Mercantile ($44.90; currently out of stock, and probably out of my price range anyway, but I’ll look for something similar to store fabrics…yarns will go in these wooden baskets); Melltorp table from IKEA ($65); Stenstorp kitchen island from IKEA ($399; this is probably too expensive to get right off the bat, but eventually I’d like to have this or something similar to use as a cutting table/workspace); Sweet Sea Roses patterned paint roller by Notwallpaper ($37).

I can’t wait to see how this room comes together this year.  I’m hoping to have it done by my birthday, at the end of September.  I can’t imagine a better birthday present than having my own little space to create and dream and play with floss, fabric, & fiber!

xoxo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 3:47 pm

    wow – a craft room to dream and plan for many months. That may even better than planning a wedding. You have some lovely stuff picked out.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      January 8, 2014 11:09 pm

      Thanks! Way more fun than planning a wedding…no family drama! (Ok maybe that was just my wedding?) I have to take advantage of this room while I can, because once we have kids this will be the guest room (the current guest room will become the nursery).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

