Skip to content

My First Quilt {FO}

January 5, 2014

Ollalieberry Ice Cream Quilt

Ollalieberry Ice Cream Quilt

Ollalieberry Ice Cream Quilt

Pattern: Olallieberry Ice Cream Quilt, by Alicia Paulson

Materials: 1/8 yard each of 10 different prints (Architextures Crosshatch by Caroyln Friedlander, Marmalade Raspberry Stripe by Bonnie & Camille, Critter Patch Bunny Brigade by Alyssa Thomas,  Oasis Dainty by 3 Sisters, A Walk in the Woods by Aneela Hoey, Sunnyside Celestial by Kate Spain, Double Chocolat by 3 Sisters, Lola Polka Dot by Dear Stella, Minimalista Confetti by Art Gallery, and some plaid by Marcus Fabrics that apparently doesn’t exist because I can’t find it anywhere online); 3/4 yard cream-colored cotton; crib-size Warm & Natural batting; 2 yards unbleached muslin for the backing; 3/4 yard red gingham for the binding; 2 spools Gutermann thread in color #21.

Started: December 20, 2013

Finished: January 4, 2014

This quilt might just be my favorite thing I’ve ever made, and the proudest accomplishment of my crafty life.  This pattern was really ideal for a first quilt; it walked me through the process step-by-step, with lots of pictures.  As much as I love Alicia Paulson’s aesthetic, her “you can totally do this!” spirit is what really makes her books, patterns, and blog worth paying attention to.  The only thing that wasn’t well explained in this quilt pattern was how to attach the binding to the back with a blind hem stitch, but I found a good video for that on YouTube.

I’ll be honest…the quilt is a little wonky.  A lot of the squares don’t really line up.  The quilting lines aren’t straight (even though I used a walking foot), and the spacing varies from 1/8″ to 1/2″ in some places.  There are lots of little puckers and folds.  The stitches aren’t all the same length, and there are several tiny knots on the back where the thread broke or the bobbin jammed and I had to restart in the middle of the line.  There are even a few little dark gray grease spots from right after I oiled the machine for the first time.  I’m a perfectionist in my crafting, so accepting these mistakes — and actually falling in love with the charm that some of them add to the quilt — was a big deal in and of itself.

I was a little nervous that when I tossed this thing in the washing machine yesterday, it would fall apart at the seams.  But of course it didn’t!  I made a quilt.  After that, I feel like I can do pretty much anything.

xoxo

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2014 6:14 am

    It is lovely. Quilts with mistakes are really the best. Then you can have them over you while you eat ice cream on the couch and not worry because they are already a little messed up. My kids drag mine on the kitchen floor and make forts with them on an unclean kitchen table and it is no big deal. I want to make new quilt for my sons bed and I may use this pattern. I love simple patches.

    • whitney marie permalink*
      January 6, 2014 7:31 am

      Quilt forts are the best!! When I was growing up, my parents had this giant quilt made by a family friend…it was made up of probably thousands of tiny (like 1-inch) hexagons. I can’t even imagine how much time it would’ve taken to make something like that. And it was perfect. My brother & I used to throw it over the dining room table to make a fort. Or sit on it in our wet swimming suits and eat ice cream. We abused that thing, and sadly it fell apart and was thrown away. I think losing that quilt is one of the biggest reasons I wanted to start making them. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

